Nasturtium and Feta Salad

I can smell the sharp, sweet scent of nasturtium flowers drifting over to me from the bench as I sit writing with two snoozing pugs lying at my feet – a very pleasant state of affairs.

I am pug-sitting my baby girls today. It’s one of those situations where the Pug Daddy and I don’t love each other THAT way any more but we sure still love those girls. You might like to call it co-parenting, fur-baby style.

The Pug Daddy is off with his stepfather at an air show and I have had a delightful morning with my girls Ruby and Jasmine. We took a walk to the local park where they engaged in two of their favourite activities: rolling in things that stink and wading through mud to drink from puddles.

Jasmine rolls in some stink

Luckily the stink was detectable only to the canine nose and they still smell fine to me.

Ruby and Jasmine wade through mud to drink from a dirty puddle.

As well the walk back cleaned their paws so I don’t have to engage in a spot of pug wrangling to get them in the bath tub.

On our walk we passed cliffs with nasturtium tumbling down them and I picked a few to go with my lunch.

Nasturtium tumbling down a cliff.

I chopped up some mesculun salad mix with scissors, chopped up the nasturtium flowers and sliced a red capsicum (bell pepper) into sharp, sweet shards. I tossed them together and crumbled over some creamy sheep’s milk feta and drizzled over some balsamic salad dressing. Here is the result:

Nasturtium and feta salad.

Leave a Reply

